We have detected that you are running an unsupported version of Microsoft Internet Explorer. Please upgrade to version 9 or above for the best experience of this website

Update on COVID-19- The safety of our communities, customers and staff is our top priority. We are continuing to monitor daily developments in response to COVID-19. Find out the latest.

Electoral information

The next Local Government Election in Port Stephens will take place on Saturday 4 September 2021. The NSW Government postponed the 2020 Local Government Election due to COVID-19.

The 2021 Port Stephens Council local government election will be administered by the NSW Electoral Commission. For more information about the election including key dates and the nomination process, please visit NSW Electoral Commission.

Information for candidates

Candidates Information Session

Are you thinking about running for local government in 2021?

View our Candidates Information Session to find out about:

  • the key functions of Council
  • roles and responsibilities for the positions of Mayor and Councillors, including the governing body
  • the rules and processes of the election.

This session was held via Zoom and recorded on Wednesday 21 July 2021.

Election of women to local government

Did you know that women represent less than a third of all councillors and mayors serving on the 128 councils in NSW? If you're thinking about nominating for the 2021 local government election, visit NSW Office of Local Government.


Voting at the local government election is compulsory for Australian citizens. Check your enrolment status and where you are enrolled to vote. Not voting may incur a $55 fine issued by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Where do I vote?

Port Stephens is divided into 3 Wards — West Ward, Central Ward and East Ward. Residents vote to elect a Mayor and 3 councillors to represent their respective ward.

Non-residential rolls

The non-residential rolls provide an opportunity for those people who are non-resident owners, occupiers and rate-paying lessees of rateable land with the Port Stephens local government area to apply to vote at the next local government election.

There are 2 non-residential rolls:

Applications close at 6pm Monday 26 July 2021. For more information about eligibility, management of rolls and whether voting is compulsory, download the Non-resident Rolls Information Guide.

Important changes about the election

The NSW Electoral Commission have introduced a number of important changes to the 2021 local government election.  To view the change visit the NSW Electoral Commission's website.

Working at the local government election

The NSW Electoral Commission is calling for applications from anyone interested in working at the local government election. Please visit LGE21 expression of interest website to make an application.

Register of electoral funding

Council is required to provide public access to the disclosure declarations lodged with the NSW Electoral Commission by Mayor and Councillors. This is in accordance with:

  • Local Government and Planning Legislation Amendment (Political Donations) Act 2009
  • Local Government Act 1993
  • Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979.

The disclosure declarations are required to be lodged with the NSW Electoral Commission by the Mayor and each Councillor within the Commission's specified timeframe.

Previous election results


Governance Section Manager/Public Officer
Phone: 4988 0255 
Fax: 4988 0130
Email: council@portstephens.nsw.gov.au
Address: PO Box 42, Raymond Terrace NSW 2324