New Councillors sworn in banner image

Council welcomes new and familiar faces as Councillors sworn in at first meeting

11 January 2022

Ryan Palmer has been officially sworn in as Port Stephens Mayor alongside 9 Councillors at the first Council meeting of 2022 tonight.

Re-elected Councillors Steve Tucker (Central Ward), Giacomo Arnott (West Ward) Chris Doohan (Central Ward) and Glen Dunkley (East Ward) have been joined by 5 new Councillors including Jason Wells (Central Ward), Matthew Bailey (East Ward), Leah Anderson (East Ward), Peter Kafer (West Ward) and Peter Francis (West Ward).

Council has also tonight elected a new Deputy Mayor in Councillor Steve Tucker. Newly elected Deputy Mayor Tucker says it's an exciting time to take on this new role on Council.

Deputy Mayor Tucker will remain in the role for a term of one year, effective immediately.

Mayor Ryan Palmer welcomed the new Councillors and encouraged residents to get to know their local representatives.

“With five new faces in the chambers this term, I look forward to working with all Councillors on projects that make real change,” Mayor Palmer said.

“We know our community want to see action on the things that matter – improvements to our road networks, better pathways and playgrounds, improvements to our community engagement and the protection of our natural environment.

“Our new Council has a diverse background with a wide range of skills and I am excited to embrace the New Year and get to work as Mayor on outcomes that make Port Stephens a better place to live, work and visit.

“At the heart of it, our job is to serve our community. I would encourage residents to get to know their local Councillors and speak to them about how they can best represent the needs of their communities.”

The elected Port Stephens Councillors are:

Mayor Ryan Palmer

Central Ward

  • Councillor Chris Doohan
  • Councillor Steve Tucker
  • Councillor Jason Wells

East Ward

  • Councillor Leah Anderson
  • Councillor Matthew Bailey
  • Council Glen Dunkley

West Ward

  • Councillor Giacomo Arnott
  • Councillor Peter Francis
  • Councillor Peter Kafer

You can learn about the Mayor and Councillors at