We have detected that you are running an unsupported version of Microsoft Internet Explorer. Please upgrade to version 9 or above for the best experience of this website

Update on COVID-19- The safety of our communities, customers and staff is our top priority. We are continuing to monitor daily developments in response to COVID-19. Find out the latest.

Audit Committee

In February 2010, Council resolved to establish an Audit Committee as an advisory committee of Council. The Audit Committee comprises 2 Councillors and 3 independent external representatives.

The objective of the Audit Committee is to enhance the corporate governance of Council through the provision of independent oversight, review and advice. The committee will assist Council by providing independent assurance and assistance on the organisation's governance, risk, control and compliance framework.

The committee will report to Council and provide independent advice and recommendations on matters relevant to the committee's charter. It will also act as a forum for communication between Council, General Manager, senior management, internal audit and external audit.

The current membership of the Audit Committee comprises the following representatives:

  • External independent representative: Mr Ben Niland
  • External independent representative: Mr Frank Cordingley
  • External independent representative: Mr Shaun Mahony
  • Councillor Glen Dunkley
  • Councillor Chris Doohan

The appointment of Mr Ben Niland, Mr Frank Cordingley and Mr Shaun Mahony as independent external representatives to the Audit Committee is up until 30 June 2020.

Ben Niland has over 13 years experience working in large NSW government organisations. Ben has experience in risk management, auditing programs and working within a legislative framework. Ben has been an independent external member of Council's Audit Committee for four years demonstrating a high level of practical and conceptual financial management accounting skill with knowledge of internal controls, policies and procedures.

Frank Cordingley has over 20 years' experience working in both the private and public sectors. As Director Corporate Services for Hunter Health, Frank also held the position as an independent member on the Audit and Risk Management Committee of Health Support Services. In addition, Frank was also a Director on the Board of Newcastle Airport Ltd and a member of their Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Shaun Mahony has over 20 years experience working in professional accounting firms providing audit, accounting and business advice to a broad range of clients including public companies, government organisations, not for profit entities and private companies. Shaun has also held senior finance roles overseeing finance, information technology and communications, human resources and administration functions.

Councillor Glen Dunkley was elected as an East Ward Councillor in September 2017.

Glen is a lifetime Port Stephens resident, entering his first term on Council as a representative of the East Ward. The safety and environment manager holds a degree in Occupational Health and Safety. A Life Member of the Fingal Bay Surf Lifesaving Club and President between 2007 and 2011, Glen has picked up a number of National Awards as a result of his outstanding service, which stretches back to 1992.

Married to Kate, with two young children, Glen is one of four new Councilors charged with shaping Council's strategic vision over the next three years.

Councillor Chris Doohan was elected as a Central Ward Councillor in September 2012 and elected Deputy Mayor in September 2015 for a term of 12 months.

Chris has been a resident of Medowie for over a decade, and has lived in or been a regular visitor to the Port Stephens region for more than 40 years.

Chris is passionate about improving infrastructure in the local area, and ensuring our roads are maintained suitably within the budgets afforded to them. A keen supporter of good development, Chris is driven to provide employment opportunities which allow local people to live and work in this great area.


Audit Committee Charter

Audit Committee Minutes

Audit Committee Annual Reports

Contact Details
Port Stephens Council
Phone: 02 4988 0255
Fax: 02 4987 3612